Edinburgh Chap's Photos

By GilesGuthrie

A few words about me

Shamelessly stealing the idea of Karen & Mark's 40th birthday present to me, here's a mocked-up Scrabble board with a few words about me on it. I needed to do it for a work thing, where it was very well received.

My original idea had been to mock up a Words With Friends board, but because of the semi-transparent tiles and adaptive bevelling, it was going to be next to impossible. Back to old-school tech then, and a £13 Scrabble set. Tripod centre arm in the horizontal position to allow straight-down shooting. Words planned out in a grid on Excel. Time to shoot.

My eldest, who knows a little about Scrabble, almost immediately proclaimed that I didn't have enough letters for the board. I explained that it wasn't going to be a problem, but she really didn't get it. I ended up having to show her the 15-layer image in Photoshop, and how each layer - containing its own tile layout - built up the overall board.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.