JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Lovely Eben, on the drums

Eben is still happy for me to sit in on his weekly drum lessons, though I think that will change eventually. At only seven, he's not particularly self-conscious yet.  This gives me the opportunity to take the odd photo with my phone, without being intrusive.
This week, tutor Anthony played a blinder, getting out his own electric guitar and asking Eben to play along with him. Eben can sustain a basic rock beat for a while now, and got a real buzz out of this.  Suddenly he was really in 'rock' mode, and not just practice mode. He could see, hear and feel the possibilities, and he loved it.  It's still very early days, with much to work on and refine. But so long as he continues to love it, that's the main thing.
He rarely practises at home, partly because it's difficult to get time on his own.... when Luca sees Eben starting to practise, he tends to try to join in, and he's just too young (just under four) to give Eben any space.  They are scrapping a lot at the moment, and Luca is really flexing his younger brother muscles. I'm sure they'll get through it, but it can be difficult.
Plus the electronic drum kit we bought, as a starter kit, isn't a particularly satisfying option.
So I've now taken the plunge and found a decent acoustic kit at a good price. To start with I think it'll live in our house, so Eben can have some uninterrupted practice sessions sometimes. The fact that I'll be able to play around with it too - well, what a bonus...! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.