CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A Scarlet Tiger moth, a bit the worse for wear

When I came home this afternoon, I nearly trod on this small moth which had attached to some grasses on the footpath leading to the house. I made sure to walk around it as I unloaded my several bags of shopping. Then I filled thew kettle and brought my camera out into the front garden.

I had attached a macro lens and then had to lie flat on the pavement to get close enough although I still couldn't get a parallel view so part of its lower body is out of focus. Then I went in to the reverse position to see its underside where its legs seemed to be hanging on precariously to the grass. I've added an 'Extra' of this view to give you a fuller picture.

I've also added a rather poor shot of a Cinnabar moth (Tyria jacobaeae) which had been perched like this all day on the outside stucco at the side of the house.

These moths are both daylight flyers and their vivid colours, particularly the red, are indicators to predators that they have toxic content in their bodies. So beware.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.