JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Strawberries

This was our first picking of strawberries this year, just enough for a generous dessert for the three of us, and they were delicious.  We don't have a big strawberry bed, so there will not be huge numbers, but there should be a few more good puddings to come.

It's already Friday, this is Monday's photo, and I have several more days  to catch up with. I've been low on motivation for photography this week, as well as short of time, so they are all just quick snaps with my little compact camera, often from the end of the day as the light fades. I'm sticking to close-ups, as I'm quite despondent about the mess the garden is in and our inability to keep up with it, despite P working as hard as he can on it and me trying to prioritise it whenever I have a bit of time. I love being out there doing things, love the space and the trees and the view, and even all the pretty weeds, but by midsummer all the things we didn't manage to do earlier become much bigger problems - especially the long grass, and the nettles which are overwhelming the raspberry canes. Life and circumstances, both personal and in the world we live in, have changed a lot in the decade since we moved here, and it's taking time to adjust and find our way to new plans. In the meantime, I'll stick to the close-ups. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.