DepressedDiva

By DepressedDiva

Lady Godiva

It’s the Godiva Festival this weekend, in my home city of Coventry. I say that loosely as I moved away 20 years ago now to go to university!

I come to Godiva every year with my aunt. I usually look forward to it but this year I’ve been dreading it, although had a great time when I was there. Tonight was a local band who made it fairly big called The Enemy.

For those of you that don’t know. Lady Godiva is a bit of a local legend. She was married to the earl of Mercia who wanted to raise the taxes. She protested and he told her if she rode a horse naked through Coventry he wouldn’t raise them. She did this. Out of respect for helping her all the people of Coventry stayed indoors. That is all except for a man called Thomas. He pepped and had is eyes gouged out for it. That’s where we get the phrase peeping Tom from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.