... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Contemplative Egyptian Goose

Good news: there are still 11 mallardlings on Clapham Common! Go mallard mother!

The keen eyed amongst you will have noticed that this isn't Mr. Goosle (he has much more coppery wing coverts, and can't keep his lifted foot hidden when he stands on one leg...); this is an Egyptian goose on Wandsworth Common. There were three of them on the pond today, and the other two (a pair) weren't being very kind to this single goose.

I was very torn about what to blip today: I went to Clapham Common this morning (Mr. Goosle and mallardlings) and visited Wandsworth Common this afternoon with the 70-200mm lens attached. I had a wonderful time: it is fantastic and I was left with lots of shots that I was tempted to blip... There were cootlings of various sizes, tufted ducks (I got one shot of a pair giving each other a very intimate look), Canada geese, and mallards. The mallard ducklings that I've seen there before (phone blipped here) are now fully feathered, but still maraud around as a pack (with their mother in tow) being mischievous and playful. They're very cute.

My second choice blip was this photo of a cootling about to be fed by a parent: it is making the adorable receptive gesture that they make when a parent has food and they want it... They drop their neck and left their beak up with their head cocked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.