Melisseus

By Melisseus

Clunk click, every trip

We watched West Side Story - the Spielberg remake. It's sharp and witty; respectful of the original but has its own inventiveness and modern slant. It leverages Spielberg's ability to be nostalgic in one breath and ask contemporary questions in the next. It's not Cabaret, but it's a good film

Gang violence, police crackdowns, boys stabbing one another, and some of them dying, the powerlessness of even love - parental or romantic - to stop it: in some ways, the story is as relevant as it ever was. Compared to the multi-layered tragedy playing out in France, though, it looks small and parochial. It's all too current and shocking to address with words or analysis yet - though I suppose that will come, with abundance. Perhaps one day someone will even make a musical about it 

I replaced my pedals (extra). I can now lock myself to my bike. I've had such things before, but not for a decade or two. Based on a couple of circuits of the brewery car park, I seem to remember how to handle them without mishap. The first time I ever tried them I brought the bike to a stop and simply feel over sideways, feet still attached

The globe thistle caught the dawn light and then my eye. It was the most peaceful moment of the day, before the persistent, gusty and surprisingly cool westerly that we have had all weekend got up again

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.