The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The canal, with water!

A mere three weeks ago we were walking in the canal basin before the water was added. Today we were able to walk from Bowbridge (our nearest joining point) to just east of Waitrose. That has not been possible since last July because of engineering works, but when the contractors leave tomorrow, the whole section from Bowbridge to the bottom of town (upper Wallbridge lock) will be walkable or cycleable. Not all of the towpath has been upgraded yet, because some parts are done by a volunteer task force.

CleanSteve has written more technically about the canal and the engineering works, and about our day, so I just need to add that I took part in a poetry gig tonight, my first in about two years. I needn't have worried about rehearsing or getting nervous, because it was rather a loosely organised event. A surprise came when someone sashayed up to say hi and congratulate me, and she turned out to be one of the reshuffled members of staff at the rehab where I work. I couldn't place her at all!

It was enjoyable, and great fun to catch up with some poets and friends. I've had the offer of using a friend's letterpress press to typeset and print my own limited edition poetry book if I want. That would be a lot of work, so I shall ponder it.

Today's poem ( continuing the series of poems thought up while I accompany a child from special school on daily walks around the beautiful gardens). The shot was taken at dusk on a slow shutter speed as I walked home from the gig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.