First light from Pinnacles hut

My body clock doesn't make allowances for days I'm not at work. It just seems to wake up.

Large for maximum light (and no need for hat or gloves ;-)

But it was worth it this morning. With our nor'west weather system of the last few days produced a stunning sunrise this morning. In the scheme of things it was mild in the mountains but I still pulled on a couple more layers and a hat so I could watch first light of the day take hold.

The lights bottom left are from the small ski town of Methven. I'm not sure where the other lights are from. I wonder if the ones in the middle distance are Rolleston? The shape of hills in the distance are Banks Peninsula. Christchurch is the base of them just out of sight to the left.

We were in no hurry with only a few hours tramp out. Most of it required solid concentration with wet rocks and tree roots. We made good time and were at the Staveley store by 1pm. Nice and warm to sit in the sun for a while and yarn. Real coffee, good food and flush loo. Luxury!

It's taken me forever to post a photo for yesterday and today. A sure sign I'm tired. Definitely a good tired :-)

Check out yesterday's Up to the saddle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.