Again and Again

By Ripitup

One Bench

I noticed we had low water pressure as I was anout to head to the office and suspected a burst pipe. I'd not travelled far when this was confirmed by a bit queue of traffic and then an increasingly wet road.  My phone then became alive with messages from the emergency response group I belong to.  There was fortunately no need for a rest centre to be set up today though I suspect some businesses and homes were impacted.

Three young woman occupied the bench outside the office for some time.  They were decorating school shirts with their names and blue sequins.  I guessed it was their last day at school and they were excited; chatting, dancing and taking pictures. I've glimpsed into many lives at the bench over the year but don't think I've blipped a picture as never the best of photos but am changing that today.  It doesn't need to be.  Their joy made me smile.  That is enough. I hope for many more moments like that for them and their peers.  Its a tough world they are going to have to navigate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.