IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Making progress

It was a gloriously sunny day here today ... hope you had the same?

Spent the entire day in the garden, and after a quick hot chocolate and a Blip, I'm tempted to go back out and do a wee bit more.

My favourite tool is "the Mantis" ... my cultivator. Since last autumn, we've had the area under our fruit trees covered with thick black weed suppressing fabric. Today was the day when we pulled it back and dug over the earth (now weed free), and planted it up with all manner of flowers we have raised in our greenhouses. For just now, we'll stick with a few favourite annuals (calendulas etc), but in time, I want to have low growing perennials under the trees .... any suggestions? This area gets lots of sunlight in the winter time ... less in summer now that the fruit trees are in full leaf/bloom (but at worst it is partial shade).

We have plum, apple, pear, walnut, cherry, hazel, apricot, plus blackberries, raspberries, red and black currants (and strawberries elsewhere). Yummy!

This time last year, this entire area was under grass. It looked nice when it was cut and maintained, but that was very difficult to do. I made up my mind from the very first time I spent 2 hours cutting the grass in this garden, that the grass had to go! The first thing I did was lay down paths and created lots of flower beds. Last year, we had one flower bed planted up ... this year, we already have four. Hopefully we can make up six.

Bath or plant out more Verbenas and foxgloves?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.