Blush response

By Esper

Do You Have Winnie The Pooh?

On This Day In History
1979: Disco is dealt a death blow by fans of the Chicago White Sox

Quote Of The Day
"It felt like the Nazi book-burning. This is America, the home of jazz and rock and people were now afraid to say the word 'disco.'"
(Nile Rodgers)

An exhausting but enjoyable day travelling around London. I had a literary theme to my route, first of all visiting Daunt Books in Marylebone. It was a beautiful shop, but rather smaller than I expected and they never had what I was looking for.

My next stop was Foyles at Charing Cross Road. They had one of the books I was looking for; (R)evolution: The Gary Numan Autobiography, so I bought that. They were also able to tell me that the other book which I was looking for, Melancholy Rodeo: The Jean-Michel Jarre Autobiography, is not available in English. I did, however, purchase another book which has only recently been translated into English, and that is Beautiful Star by Yukio Mishima. I love Mishima's books, and this one is a science fiction story judging from the blurb. I'm sure it will be great.

My next stop is my Mecca; the Forbidden Planet Megastore. I was very well behaved, though; all I bought was a Star Trek passport cover.

After a fish and chips lunch at Ben's Traditional Fish And Chips opposite Forbidden Planet, I went to Hamleys. That's always fun. I then drifted around a bit trying to find some rosehip tea which my wife requested. I finally found some on the Portobello Road, near the book shop (which is not really a book shop) from the film Notting Hill. I also noticed the house where George Orwell used to live.

On the way back to my hotel in Shepherds Bush, I bought the essential souvenirs; several packets of Fruit Pastilles, Wine Gums and Liquorice Allsorts. Sorted!

Burn This Disco Out: the dancing in this video is mind-blowing!

Disco Inferno: the dancing in this video is not mind-blowing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.