Blue in June

They have been late and I can't remember the woods still looking like this into June. I've taken many photos but haven't blipped one of the Bluebells yet. Something has always been more relevant or I've waited for another day. Of course today I only had a 100mm and a 50mm lens with me. I may go back again with a wide angle!

I took a little footpath I know, that leads into an area that has little, if any, public passing through. In amongst the thick of the trees, these Bluebells are lasting longer than in other places. The stems have been stronger and the flowers larger than in previous years. At one time the Bluebell woods stretched, uninterrupted, all along the North Downs between Dorking and Guildford. They are a sign of ancient woodland, but a great deal of land was replanted for valuable timber and has been managed over the years with heavy machinery which damages the soil. Most of the plantations are now being harvested which now opens the tree canopy too much for the Bluebells to flower successfully but, I do know the landowners are eager to return the woods to their former glory. Once again the land will be given back to native species and coppicing may well return to being a common sight.

It was a beautiful walk but I forgot about the presence of one fetid puddle. The dogs went back in the bath tonight! Now time to shove another pill down Maera's unwilling throat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.