The "Ford Fiesta" of lasers...

In April I was due to open the Fraunhofer Centre for Advanced Photonics in Strathclyde University but I was ill and had to miss the event.

Today however I paid a visit and heard - from the University Principal Sir Jim MacDonald - about Strathclyde's determined approach to securing the first Fraunhofer Centre in these islands ( part of the entrepreneurial underpinning of high level technological innovation at the University) and also securing the Fraunhofer Institute UK HQ , run by one of my hosts Professor Tim Holt.

Then I saw the very unusual laser engraved and lit commemorative plaque that I hadn't unveiled and got to hear about some of the world class research going on in the centre , directed by Professor Martin Dawson.

It included this laser above, described to me by Dr David Stothard as "the Ford Fiesta of Lasers" but , to extend the analogy, now in the process of being souped up in the Centre to detect gasses that would normally be invisible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.