Gingercatpix

By Gingercatpix

One bee or not one bee, that is the question

I was standing looking out at the garden pondering on what I could Blip today when a Bee flew past my nose and disappeared into the locking mechanism on our back door. I stood there watching and a few seconds later it emerged and flew off. I did not think much of it until it returned again and vanished into the lock.

By this time I was trashing the house trying to find my tripod, normally I'm tripping over the dam thing at every turn but when you actually need these things they magically disappear.

Anyway suitably kitted up with camera, macro lens and tripod I staked out the door lock and soon enough the Bee reappeared and a I managed a few shots before he vanished again into the lock. Half an hour land 500 shots later with the Bee flying hither and thither I decided I must have got decent action shot and so it was, it was the 5th shot I had taken, typical.

I've decided it's a Tawny Mining Bee normally they like brick work or holes in the ground to build their nests but I recon a nice dry lock is just as good. Apparently they are fairly solitary beasties, at least I hope so, thats the trouble with bees they all look the same.

I guess I won't hold my breath for any honey either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.