Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Common Lizard

..well, I checked to the best of my ability and that's what I came up with - lacerta vivipara  ;))

An unexpectedly dry walk today and a good long one.  It kept threatening to rain and not quite making it, then the sun came out.  Never mind, the garden's been well watered over that last week or so and the grass is lush and green.

This lizard was found under the edge of some trees.  How I saw it I don't know, it's camouflage is really good and it was keeping completely still.  I say 'it' but surely, surely this must be a very pregnant female?  It set me thinking about whether it's young come out as eggs or wriggly babies, so when I got home I reached for my trusty (and ancient) Observer's Book of Wild Animals which has this to say:

The name vivipara refers to the fact that the female retains her eggs until they are fully developed and ready to hatch, so that the young are born free from the egg-membrane or else the membrane is broken in the act of ovi-position or immediately afterwards.

What else can I tell you? - she produces between 4 and 10 young in July or August.  From the look of her, my guess is they will be born any time now.

Sorry, probably too much info, but I found it fascinating.  I'm not sure I've ever seen a lizard in the wild before.

Hope your day's been a good one.  Happy Monday evening/Tuesday morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.