Edisteve

By edisteve

Pause the flood scheme

Musselburgh is currently in the throes of the flood prevention scheme consultation (I went to the exhibition earlier in the summer) and there appears to be a lot of disquiet, which in part centres on the fact that a lot of trees are likely to be chopped down. Additionally, we will be getting concrete walls along the riverside.

I not an expert on this, but there is definitely anger seeming to brew around this, which included a ‘Pause the Flood Scheme’ float in yesterday’s festival parade, which apparently got a loud cheer.

I’m not sure what will happen, but I hope the council addresses these concerns, because if they don’t they might end up going down the route of Sheffield and Plymouth councils who cut down rather a lot of trees and got voted out because of this.

Watch this space.

I hope you have had a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.