Me, Myself and Catherine

By cspeakman

Not As Easy As It Looks

A friend had posted some lovely photographs of his little boy among bluebells yesterday, and I thought how nice it would be to create some of my own today. The woods nearby are carpeted in bluebells at the moment, and the day dawned hot and cloudless. I slathered myself and Madeleine in suncream. She looked at little whitewashed but never mind! We took the very pleasant mile or two walk over fields to the woods and I scouted around for the perfect location. M decided at this point she didn't WANT to be put among flowers, she didn't WANT to be sat up, she WANTED to try and crawl. She also thought she'd like to rip up and then try to eat the flowers. And sat there scowling as I tried valiantly to jolly her into a nice smile whilst prising the crushed stems from her grip! At this point I lost track of where the dogs had got to, M had scrabbled onto her face on the floor and was now inconsolable. No further photographs clearly were going to happen. I also realised I'd messed up all my exposures in my hurry. So I gathered up my kit, reassembled kicking struggling screeching baby into her carrier, found my dogs and set off - rather hot and bothered-for home. To top it all I also managed to lose my lens cap. A few minutes later I had a cheerfully singing baby swinging her arms and legs about merrrily. Never mind, it was a beautiful day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.