Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

I Fell For The Computer Scam

Back blips start here.

I fell for it. My computer was suddenly infected and no sooner than I started getting debilitating pop-ups that I got the phone call.

He said he was from Microsoft and they were getting messages that a virus was coming from my computer and that it had to be cleaned out immediately. I believed they were who they said they were.

I gave them permission to access my computer remotely but it failed over and over, until they gave up. They said they would call today.

My friend, who is a State Representative, suggested I should call Microsoft and confirm this. So I did. That's when I found out it was a scam.

I paid Microsoft to clean out the viruses that were in my computer and everything is back to normal. It took over three hours. I am now using their security suite and not Avast!

I am just lucky that the viruses they placed in my computer was such that they couldn't remotely access my computer. Who knows what they would have been able to damage or steal!!!


EDIT Here are the programs that the tech from Microsoft ran to clean my computer. It may helpy ou or someone in the future and save you money:

Hitman Pro (cloud anti malware/ free one time 30-day license)
Kaspersky TDSS Killer (root kits)
Viperrescue (biggest program - may last up to 4 hrs to run)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.