The Life and Times of ...

By PappaG

Foggy Start

Morning all,

I believe a lot of our lives are spent asleep, and what I've been trying to do is hold on to those moments when a little spark cuts through the fog and nudges you - Rufus Wainwright.....and Rufus, 19 days off was the spark that nudged me !!!

"I'M ON MY HOL...
.....I'M ON MY HOL....
........I'M ON MY HOLIDAY...
TO SEE THE .....ooops...bit early for the rest of that song lol !!! ;0)

Don't care that its foggy this morning rather than the scorching sun we've been having........I have 19 days off !!!!. It was a bit mental watching the fog come in.......one minute it was clear the whole way up the Forth River then the wind picked up and blew the fog in like a huge grey wall moving down stream.....creepy !!! ;0)

History lesson.... ...sitting by the Bridge is 'Inchgarvie'.....gaelic for 'Rough Island'.....quite appropriate too !! You can see the battlements on the island still from WW2......there have always been battlements and a castle at one point on the island since the 15th century, it holding a strategic position on the Forth. Most of the islands on the Forth have battlements on them and they were arranged in a way that when viewed from above they looked like Battleships.....saved the fleet being bombed but did anyone think about the poor guy manning the battlements......(Loud decreasing whistle heard overhead)......"Oh Crap !!"

I wonder what the line was that sold the prospect of being bombed to the poor guy was......."Think of the ships y'll save!" ..."There's extra cake innit fer ye!"...."What iver ye dae, dinnae whistle....they guy wi' ye might crap hi'sel !! "

Anyway.....enough said.....oh wait.....did I tell you I was off on holidays??!!! ;0)

Have a great day ;0)

TTFN ;0)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.