Living my dream

By Mima

Wind chill

Spring is springing in K’s garden. I was there all morning and couldn’t resist taking some flower photos. 

The jonquils are looking joyful: always the first to bloom in her garden. 

With much huffing and puffing I dug around and carefully lifted two huge clumps of Dierama / Angels fishing rods in order to divide them and to remove the rampant grass which was getting embedded among their roots. I ended up with tens of spare plants, some of which I brought home and potted up, to plant Chez Mima in due course. The rest went into a bucket for K to distribute to gardening friends.

It was hard work, and while my body warmed up my fingertips remained numb in the cold southerly wind. Bitter.

There were four or five Pulmonaria  / lungwort plants hiding beneath the Dierama, a couple of which were just in flower. It was lovely to release them into the light to allow them to flourish. 

It was an enjoyable morning despite the weather. A garden is my happy place. However, I beat a retreat after a further hour of gardening at home: it was just too cold. I’ve joined Bean in the most sensible place. Indoors near the fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.