Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Above and below

Generally warm and sunny day….a relief! We started with a ceilidh for kids which was brilliant (and apparently happens all year round so we’ll need to go back next time they visit). We all enjoyed it and mercifully both stayed happy to be part of it all. Mt and I had a good workout at it!
From there we walked over to join a kids underground vaults tour. First time I’ve actually done one of these as I’m not one for small dark spaces but I’m glad I’ve done it (once…doubt I’ll go again!). Sets me thinking so much about the lives of all those people living and working in this maze of space underneath South Bridge all those years ago. AR loved all the tales told by the tour guide and wanted to know the detail of every torture instrument on display…she’s always been very interested in the macabre and now she’s got historical information it was right up (or rather, under!) her street! At one point there was talk of James VI and 1 and I said to her, “ooh we’re talking about the Tudors (her favourite) now” and she rather witheringly corrected me and said…”no, he was the first of the Stuarts”! Mx made a wee pal and they delighted themselves by being the bravest in the group and chatting non stop all the way round…then planning on where they’d meet up after lunch!
Home and had lunch then Mt had to do some work calls and I took the weans to see ‘Game On’ a very chaotic computer game based romp ending in the whole audience firing nerf guns at the characters on stage. Fun, but not quite as engaging as yesterday’s Listies show.
We’d planned to go to the beach in the afternoon but it clouded over a bit and so they preferred an alternative of an afternoon of Lego.
We were expecting Iz later so I made sausage casserole and aligot mash for supper but in the end she didn’t manage to leave work in time so we went ahead without her and hope to see her later this week.
A came round, staying overnight as she’d been out with people at work having a team building afternoon and evening, and we slobbed out a bit, chatting about heart conditions as we watched some medical thing on TV

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.