Auguries

By McCaviti

Sunday Motes

Long service leave (possibly early retirement), is a rebalancing exercise, trying to slow down, and find some peace and inner quiet.

Healthy eating, fitness, yoga, a lot of meditation, photography, reading.

Today was just about perfect, although until I had the brainwave of capturing the lotuses from my acupressure meditation mat, the only nod to photography was recharging the batteries of my mirrorless camera which has been enjoying almost full time retirement itself.

This however is taken with my Moment macro lens - it reminds me of the sun, and the tiny almost invisible specks of human detritus of those grains of sand that might contain a universe.

Blipping seems to fit in well with the pattern of my days - small frequent snacks of meditation and reading. One of these days I’ll get on with that photography course (and sorting those photos)but for now, this is where I’m finding my peace.

Although possibly I do need to declutter my reading - I seem to find it impossible to focus on the one book and like to dip in and out of many, fiction, non-fiction, poetry, short stories, magazine, physical, digital audio. It means it takes a long time to finish anything!

At the moment, Goodreads says I have 35 books I’m reading, but in reality the ones I’m dipping into …

Karl Ove Knausgaard - Autumn
Nick Harkaway - Titanium Noir
Tara Brach - Radical Compassion
Timothy Brook - Vermeer’s Hat
Diane Williams - Collected Stories
Diane Ackerman - I Praise My Destroyer
M John Harrison - I Wish I was Here
Robert Macfarlane - Landmarks
Carlos Ruiz Zafon - The Shadow of the Wind
Granta - There Must Be Ways to Organise the World with Language

So that’s only ten motes dancing around in the sunlight, illuminating my soul!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.