An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Old Mill (& Egret)

Sunrise didn't happen, at least whilst I was down at Harnham Old Mill earlier this morning. The sun did decide to appear half an hour after I'd walked the mile back home...

The cloud was as grey and useless as any that we'd suffered over the winter, hence the sepia treatment. (Though it's rather more than a straight sepia tone.)

The egret circled and swooped several times, sometimes in my shots and often not. During the long exposures, unless it remained still, it just doesn't show. Here you can see it on LARGE It's a regular feature down there so I was not surprised to see it, though early mornings is when you can almost guarantee to see it (or a different one).

There's also a sheep grazing on the far right and through the trees by that ewe is the Cathedral- and where the sunrise should have filtered through.

I had thought that I should replace this with something better, something sunny etc but after the trouble taken and the fact that my tripod had been sulking in the corner, due to its recent neglect, this will probably remain.

As it is, I'm happy that it is reminiscent of a Victorian print and I do like the movement in the water. I'd not tried this location before at this time (it's stunning on a nice sunny day with a polariser!) so like anything, I now know when to return for something better.

Had fun yesterday, attending two musical performances to do with Salisbury Arts Festival, both Spanish, one a strange solo pianist and the other an 'electro-jazz rock trio from Barcelona'! The latter were so good I bought the CD (but didn't get the T-shirt!). These were the first Festival performances that I'd paid to see so far this year.

Thanks to all for hoisting my Red Woolly Installation blip of yesterday up into the Spotlight - much appreciated!

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.