Tryfan46

By Tryfan46

Starling scramble

The local nursery, the Potted Garden, has a bird viewing hide that always repays a few minutes quiet watching, especially when the wife is buying bedding plants. Today there was a lot of activity but not much variety.

The starlings were behaving only as starlings can; noisy, argumentative, flighty, squabbling, feeding furiously on the fat balls. I took many shots but this I think conveys the movement and action around the fat ball. Shame you can't record the sound on a still photograph.

Also seen were collared doves, magpies and the odd blue tit. A grey squirrel was caught several times raiding the bird tables for food.

Later on in the day it was back to the allotment to finish the paths and sow some more beetroot. Dismayed that another bird, the ubiquitous pigeon, had been feasting on my newly emerged peas. So I had to sow some more peas and net them all up as well before I left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.