GrahamMcArthur

By GrahamMcArthur

Checking the numbers

I wanted to blip a portrait today. It has been a while since my last attempt. Before I left work tonight I wandered down to the track centre to see if I could find any victims.
No new blood could be seen. Bugger...looks like I might have to blip 'crate' from my back set I shot during the day as I went about what I had to do. Quick snaps with the phone just incase I needed something if my plan failed to deliver a reasonable portrait.

I had made up my mind that no portrait was happening tonight so I chatted with 'Nibbo' for a while and then said my good byes. Nibbo said 'No photos tonight?'
'No, I have plenty of you so will give it a miss.'
'What? I'm not good enough for yer?'
And with that I got the camera out for a few minutes as Nibbo went about his coaching session.

The shot above shows Nibbo deep in thought as he is studying the numbers & times of the effort just completed. As always everything is recorded in the coach's note books along with comments. Temperature and humidity are also recorded as well as the start and finish times of each session, the gearing used for each athlete and effort and the split times , number of repetitions and number of sets. Gearing changes with each individual effort & rep.
Athlete order is also recorded for each effort. Other detail such wheels and sometimes tires are noted. Rest times between efforts are strictly controlled and noted. Temperature & humidity are often recorded next to each entry.

Each effort or exercise is coded. Different coaches and countries use different terms and codes. Australian high performance and the State Institutes use codes as directed by the programs head coach. For example the track sprint code - K1 refers to the first part of a kilometre - the standing start. Some other codes are: K2, K4, Er3, Er5, Er6 etc. Mac & macc and many others. The athletes need to learn what these are and get used to the coaches short hand codes for specific efforts. Letters are used to name the type of effort or exercise and the number refer to duration, intensity and work/rest ratio as well as type of rest. Some codes can be quite long, none-the-less it is shorter and more convenient that writing out detailed descriptions in complex training programs.
Its not easy being a high performance coach. Long hours and lots of study and planning.

Tonight

Today's back up blips

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.