occhi verdi

By occhiverdi

The Lucas Gusher at Spindletop

The third of my Gladys City photos (1, 2).

Pictured above is the Lucas Geyser in south Beaumont, Texas on Spindletop Hill. On January 10, 1901, it struck oil at a depth of 1,139 ft (347m). It blew oil 150 ft into the air at a rate of 100,000 barrels a day. Spindletop was the largest gusher that had ever been seen. Beaumont's population skyrocketed from 10,000 to 50,000 as companies and speculators moved to town.
The gusher slowed production as geysers often do (they do, right?). Around 1904, it was producing 10,000 barrels a day. Drilling to a depth of 2,500 ft (760m) in 1925 caused a second and greater oil boom than the first. Spindletop continued to produce oil until 1936.

---------------
Figured I'd do a little research on Spindletop since I pass by it every day or so. I haven't been to the fake "town" that they have since I was in elementary school. But that's mainly because you have to pay (I think). And I'd rather take pictures outside.

The sky was just beautiful today; the clouds looked fake, fluffy, and awesome.
Oh and we had crawfish tonight at JuJu's. I feel very southeast-Texan right now. I like it.
Started the daily workouts again since it's been about three weeks since I have run or anything. Ouch, my legs are already sore.. but I can't wait until tomorrow morning!
Goodnight, Blipland.
See you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.