Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

Time to say goodbye

As I awake on this, my final morn
I sense sadness, my family folorn
My head raises, its weight now so great
And I know it's time, I have a date
It's been coming now, I know its thrall
I can't complain though, I've had a good call
These people who stand with tear in eye
My familly saddened, I understand why
They've been good to me, I must admit
There's been knees on which to sit
And food forever filling my plate
Which, if I pleased, I sometimes ate
I've come and I've gone just as I've willed
And I know their hearts I've often stilled
By staying away for a day or maybe two
As the fear in them had steadilly grew
For they've looked after me and oft worried
Yet to satify my whims they've often hurried
Yes, it's been a good life, I can't complain
But to pass so soon, it's a bit of a shame
I have a good number of years left in me
But this illness I caught, they all call it C,
Has beaten me down, taken my time away
But, oh how I wish, I really could stay
These people have given me so much of their love
I wish I could repay them, Oh heavens above
There's that lady with her kindly face
I'm here again in this strange smelling place
There's tears in her eyes as she strokes my fur
And I see the sadness that hovers about her
I feel a tiny prick then the pain it has passed
And all I see is my master's eyes at the last
I hear his words so gentle upon my ears
Said so softly, said through his tears
"Goodbye my little one, my dear little friend
Pass over the bridge with rainbows at the end
Know that you carry all our love from our heart
And know that someday our time will restart"
Then dreams drift gently into my mind
And when I awaken it's pure peace that I find
The space around me with love is so filled
And I know it's that which my family willed
There's plenty of places here to explore
But I'll never stray so far from this, Heaven's door
Because one by one as my familly arrive
To be there for each one, shall I strive
Until once again where the rainbows are found
My own dear, dear family, shall me surround

Terry Rhiannyr
June 2013

Sadly today was Bardy's final day. He'd deteriorated over the last couple of days and, after a really troubled night last night where I stayed up with him, it was decided that today he would be given peace. We waited until the last appointment of the day so he had one final day in the sun he loved. When the time came he passed easily and a look of peace was left on his face.

As I held him I gave him thanks for the time and the love he's given us and I gave him hugs and kisses and love from all of the people who never met him yet who passed their love and thoughts on to him. When he passed over he passed on a cloud of love and I couldn't wish for anything better.

My huge thanks to all of you who have commented and supported us over the last few weeks.

*hugs and kisses* to all of you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.