WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Bleathwaite Pasture

Maybe the clue was in the name, but I met cows. Belties to be precise, with a couple of very tiny ones. Needless to say, they were blocking my gate half way up - with one outlier like a sentry soldier keeping guard. From afar, they seemed a bit antsy with my approach. As I got closer, they made moves in my direction. I wasn’t going to argue. I headed along the fence and managed to cross where the barbed wire changed from double to single and only suffered one minor abrasion on my finger. 

I’m glad I could continue because, for a very short walk, it packed a punch with views. 

The clouds were spectacular with a huge swirl over The Old Man of Coniston and, early on, the tops were lit up against a dark backdrop. I had good views of Coniston Water too which was nice to see as the campsite is in woodland so no views despite being on the shores.

It was the perfect short outing before driving home. A long journey with a particularly lengthy queue at Gargrave with a serious accident that had occurred hours before.

Beryl’s had a bath. I’m packed away. Evening of gardening programmes and early to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.