JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Covid memorial

I'm back in touch with the photography volunteering that I've done for ArtUK in the past, gathering images of public art (sculpture, to date) for their database and website.  They have a small amount of interim funding for some new recording, while they wait for the outcome of bigger funding bids.
The first images wanted by ArtUK, for now, are of the Sheffield Covid memorial, which was unveiled in March. It's in the shape of a steel weeping willow, and when it was first unveiled there were fabric streamers attached with messages and memories from bereaved families.   Back in March this year, I blipped an image of these:
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3086713264642459083

After I'd finished taking the images for ArtUK, a man came along to spend some time looking at the memorial, and taking phone photos of his own. Inside the 'trunk' of the tree is a small inscription in various languages, with the words 'everyone has a story'.  I saw him get drawn to this, and wondered what his own personal story might be. 
It's a piece of work that I've seen people spend time with often, usually in silence.  I don't know if it brings any comfort to the people who visit it but I think that for some, it probably does.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.