Teasel

By Teasel

Time Flies

BB was meant to have a rugby match today, but it has been moved to next Saturday.  That meant no one had to be up early today.  I spent my morning reading my book and doing some chores.  It had been a lovely day, though very windy.  There was rain overnight, but we seem to have missed the worst of Strom Betty.  TT went to church this morning and picked up provisions for brunch on his way back home.  While he was cooking brunch, I was reminding BB that he had to get out of bed as he had a football match to get ready for.  We set off for the football., after we had all enjoyed brunch.
 
Today’s match was in Gorebridge – another former mining community.  We were last there on a very cold day in the spring and BB’s team won.  It was much brighter and warmer today, but very blustery.  We dropped BB off then went for a wander to “explore” Gorebridge, learning it’s past was focused around coal mining and before that gunpowder!  BB went back to watch the game and I went to explore Gore Glen, getting back to watch the later stages of the game.  A scrappy game by all accounts, and they drew. 
 
When I got home I had to search for some washing which had disappeared – blown off.  I found it in the garden thankfully.  TT decided he wanted to do a barbeque for tea, to try out his new barbie.  We had a few bits and pieces, but I went out to pick up a few more things.  By the time it was ready, I wasn’t feeling great, so didn’t eat very much in the end.  I curled up on the sofa, finished my book (Shrines of Gaiety) and then went to bed, still feeling deciding ropey.
 
TT and I walked past a row of cottages, one of which had this inscription, Time Flies.  A bit of googling and I have found out that this cottage  was built in 1888 by Robert Dundas (of nearby Arniston House) as a cottage for the District Nurse. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.