The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Emergency Still Life (Friday 18th August 2023)

I think some generic update must have been made to all browser provider software that make them somehow less compatible with older browsers, because as of this day Firefox, Opera and Chrome wouldn't do a lot of what they did before on the latest versions available to my desktop PC.

This means that some of the things I regularly do when uploading blips can't be done anymore. They were always beyond the scope of my iPad but I am discovering that my newer MacBook Air (using Ventura) can't really substitute properly because of Apple's poor mouse and trackpad, and that the Firefox and Safari browsers work in a different way on it. I did try to download an open source browser to my PC as a work around but it wouldn't install.

A day trying to overcome these setbacks meant I only took one hasty shot. This buddleia bloom was a victim to Wednesday's prunings and was rescued to be stuck into this whisky bottle for a quick blip.

L.
Monday 21.8.2023 (1734 hr)

Blip #3941 (#3691 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #003
Blips/Extras In 2023 #147/265 + #078/100 Extras
Day #4892 (1141 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3081 (#2921 + 160 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Flora series
Still Life series

Taken with Pentax KS-1 (Blue) and Pentax smc P-DA* 55mm F1.4 SDM prime lens

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Jaibi - You Got Me (1967)
If I had heard this great soul record in 1967 it would have been one of my Singles Of The Year and been on loads of mix tapes that I made up. What cruel twist of fate kept it from me until this week, when Gideon Coe played it on the radio? Jaibi, it turns out, was one Joan Bates (February 6, 1943–September 4, 1984), who married the songwriter Larry Banks (Go Now) and made a couple of records for GWP.
"Were it not for a slightly clumsy fade-out I would try to make a case for this being, quite simply, the perfect record. Although well under three minutes, it is by no means a pop song—it didn't jump out and grab me, and it might not grab you. But give it your full attention and you’ll come to cherish how the voice soars, becoming both the loved and the love, capturing perfectly the point between strength and vulnerability, pulling the two together ‘til they meet as one. The stately pace, the way the horns swell slowly and with such grace behind the melody, the way the bass starts boiling over when she sings "I try to fight this burning desire", the swirling keyboard licks, even the drums are bursting with emotion. This is AWESOME. I love this song!" - James McKean of Stylus Magazine


One year ago:
Woody Thursday (Grape vine)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.