WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Convergence

A bit less murky in large.

Ooof ... another hot day. It was officially 41.9C this afternoon. So of course I made chutney. I had to simmer it for hours to get the right consistency. But I left it on a moderate heat on the stove, left the room, and set an alarm for every half hour to go and check up on it.

I had a swim in the morning of course ... the water was 29C, so not terribly refreshing. I had a cold shower when I got out. The Mairie has sensibly changed the opening hours, so now it opens at 3:30 instead of 2:30 after lunch and stays open till 9 instead of 8. I spent the day mostly in air conditioned comfort, reading, and headed to the pool at about a quarter past eight. There were more people than I had hoped to see, and the water was now 30C. But I had a quick swim, until a child narrowly missed kicking me in the face while he was getting out of the pool. I got a faceful of water instead by moving my head in the nick of time and he walked off without a backward glance, ignoring my splutters of protest. Here's the sunset as I left the pool.

Anyway, back home I had some very light nibbles and a glass of ice-cold rosé as a reward for my exertions. I certainly don't feel moved to cook anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.