Live .....

..... music.

After a morning of pottering around at home I went in to Leeds this afternoon for yet more pottering. My main reason for going to Leeds was for an Ed Harcourt gig at Trinity Church this evening. I arrived in Leeds mid afternoon and called in to the church to check the promoters photography policy. Ed was there taking photos of the church, we got chatting and he kindly agreed to pose for a few photos for me. Not only is he a great singer songwriter, he's also a very nice chap.

At the gig with me this evening was Earthdreamer (who has blipped a great portrait of Ed ). It was a wonderfully intimate gig and somehow myself and Earthdreamer managed to get front row seats ( on the groom's side ). The support act on the tour is Catherine A.D. who I've blipped, she played piano and sung in a style that was a cross between Tori Amos and Kate Bush and was accompanied on violin by another red head in white called Sophie.

Ed played a great set tonight with just the right mix of old and new tunes. Highlights for me were his singing/preaching from the pulpit and a beautiful moment where he went completely unplugged and walked up and down the aisle singing and playing guitar, you could have heard a pin drop.

Although the music was great tonight, the lighting and position of mic stands meant I didn't get any good photos of Ed performing, but I have added one of the portrait photos I took of him earlier in the day ( along with a few others from the gig ) in a set Here.

If you haven't heard of Ed Harcourt before This one's for you.

So today's blip is all about the .....


..... Live music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.