TrishaR

By TrishaR

Goodbye

This was Mum waving us off on 2 May as we left her to go on our two week holiday. How can she now be gone.

Today we said goodbye to a closed door and the tears flowed. It was hard. Just hope whoever moves in next is as happy and contented as she was.

First thing though we went to Morrisons for a box of biscuits and chocolates to go with a card for the staff of Isla Court on behalf of Mum thanking them for their kindness over the years. She left me instructions in a letter to do this. Stopped off at Hinterland for a bacon roll and a coffee before heading up to The flat. There was cleaning of the bathroom and kitchen floors and taking the remainder of the contents to ours. Our house is bursting at the seams.

I popped in to Zina’s flat with flowers and card for her and we had a chat. Loreen had arrived at Mum’s flat earlier with a big packet of Blue Riband so I gave her the card and flowers then. She is a wee poor soul, gone downhill quite a lot this past year.

I feel mentally and physically exhausted. We’ve basically never stopped since 6 July. It’s all been done for Mum, I think she would have said. Thanks Tricia, thanks Stewart. Now I want you to both have a nice meal on me. Thank you.

Oh Mum, I would have done absolutely anything for you.


‘To live in hearts we leave behind us not to die’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.