ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Leaving campus

It was another rather warm day in Stockholm. Cool and grey in the morning, and then it brightened up and was really pretty warm when we left Stockholm University campus in a taxi to the airport. We didn't really have time for another wander around campus (and we had our bags), but it is already possible to see from these photos that the campus is a mixed of concrete brutalism, old Nordic houses, and green space. It's quite appealing especially in good weather.

The peer review job was more or less wrapped up in the morning. We have to finalise our report, but that should be fine. We have a plan.

Everything at the airport went smoothly, although it entailed some very loooong walks making you think you were actually walking to your next destination, until it came to board the aeroplane. It seemed that I'd been bought the wrong sort of ticket in order to get my bag on board, and so I had to pay a swingeing charge and then let them put it in the hold (although there was actually plenty of room in the baggage lockers when I eventually boarded....and the flight was not full....). So, don't fly Norwegian, if you can avoid it. It will catch you out, especially if you are not booking the flight yourself and so their somewhat odd hand baggage rules are liable to catch you out. I'm not impressed with the travel agent....

Funnily enough, we left early and arrived early, and so I actually - after collecting my bag - got the same train to Tampere I would have expected to get based on the arrival time of the flight. But meanwhile, there was a great deal of anxiety whilst on the aeroplane as to what would happen if my bag got left in Stockholm (it once happened to me in Schiphol when KLM insisted on taking my bag off me....).

I found my way to the hotel, which is not one I've stayed in before. Unlike Stockholm, the room is a reasonable size and the bed is a large single instead of a small one (which was doing my head in when in Stockholm...) But it has no windows, basically....tiny triangular slats blocked by inbuilt Venetian blinds, which cannot be opened. I thought of going out for a wander around old haunts, but tiredness overcame me, and I stayed in what - bar the aircon - is a mercifully quiet room (also a contrast to Stockholm...).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.