ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Don't take yourself too seriously

That's been the "learning" from open water swimming.... Today, L and I (and a couple of others who were super fast) walked down to the end of Loch Migdale and attempted to swim back (with L's husband providing "support" in the form of carrying certain things back to the car). While L has managed the whole thing back to the car park before, I'm afraid I was so slow that after about 97 minutes and 1900 metres (see extra - ignore the timing) we ended up getting out of the water and joining L's husband in walking back to the cars. This was the weirdest walk I have had in a while...half a kilometre along a forest path, not wearing glasses, and wearing only my swimsuit.... Well, you see all sorts in the Highlands. We passed some walkers. I have no idea what they thought.

As I said, don't take yourself too seriously.

This was by a long way my longest ever swim, so I'm proud of that. I'm sorry not to make the full distance, but I do need to get faster and fitter. I took this "selfie" with the go pro (which travelled in the float) about halfway down the loch. We kept to the side, so could often stand up, but the negative side of that was getting caught in a lot of reeds which actually came close to making me panic at one point. It was also quite windy to start with, with tricky waves heading into our faces. But I cannot blame that for my slowness. That's just about the fitness.

So that activity has dominated the day, which has otherwise been an incredibly pleasant last weekend day in the north. I did a bit of gardening this morning, clearing out some of the buddleia from next door hanging over the front garden and doing some weeding. I also got the washing hung out. And now we've had a lovely Sunday evening dinner and we enjoyed a glass of wine out the back on the picnic table, before mizzle (and midges....) drove us in. This has been a special summer in the north.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.