helenann

By helenann

Friends Reunited

This morning, my mother's former neighbours ( for at least40years) in Hertfordshire came to visit her. After first calling in at her new abode, (the Care Home) where my mother(Doris)and I greeted  them and showed them around, we all continued to my house where Martin was preparing lunch. 
My blip shows Martin, my Mum, and D and W with their daughter K and her daughters B and K. They were delighted to see not only Doris but Peter tortoise. They used to care for him when my parents were on holiday; now my neighbours have become his minders.
Later in the afternoon our guests departed to explore Winchester before returning home, and I  took Doris back to her home.
Then Martin and I had a quick turnaround before going out to an evening party to celebrate the wedding of our ukulele teacher and his longstanding partner. About a dozen of his students had been invited and we played a short set between sets by the official band, which was well received .  The bride had invited many of her friends from Northern Ireland so as you can imagine there was great craic throughout the evening! In fact, it was one of the best wedding receptions I have ever attended.  
It has been a truly memorable day for the best of reasons- friendships celebrated and renewed.
Extra is of the wedding cake (with a three stringed uke?!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.