Nature Watcher

By NatureWatcher

Beltane Morris

Backblip - Sunday at Shrewsbury Folk Festival

C and baby E joined us for a day at the festival (they sensibly didn't fancy camping). We all did the round of music and watching the morris dancers of which there were 13 teams.  My favourites were Beltane Morris from Dartmoor.  They were very energetic and wonderful to watch with their black tattered coats, make up and sticks. There's a collage of them dancing in extra together with The Ironmen from Ironbridge.

Late afternoon was the morris parade round the site to the dance tent where they all performed at the Morris Party.

We had chilli for tea which C brought with her and we heated up on my camping stove. Then I dashed to the session with #Band 2.

When I'd finished I met the family at the children's tent.  They had made lanterns in a workshop and were now adding fairy lights to them and putting them on sticks. I made one to look like her little sister!

When it got dark they lined up and paraded around the site led by a group of musicians.  When we passed the food area and one of the concert tents as well as around the route they were cheered which was lovely.  There are some photos in extras.

Afterwards I went to hear Billy Bragg in the big concert as I've always enjoyed his songs. Afterwards we were having a drink in the artistes reception when he came in.  I had a short chat with him and O took a photo of us together.  I tried to add it as an extra but it keeps uploading it sideways. There is one of him on stage though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.