Now we have everything

By Gembop

Chilling in the sun

As visitation at the hospital doesn't start until 2pm we visited my brother for a couple of hours then wiled away the rest in the garden, under a very glorious sun (except Charlie who was in the shade of the shade).

It was all very chilled until we got a phonecall from my sister to say Lewis was joining dad as a patient in the same hospital and on the same floor! He has been admitted to the children's ward in the opposite wing as his kidney's have stopped functioning properly again.

When 2 o'clock arrived, Robin and Charlie dropped us off and I went to Lewis's ward and mum went to dad's. Visiting a children's ward when you've not long had a baby is a pretty emotional experience. I fetched Laura and I a coffee from the parent's kitchen and met the dad of a 5 year old boy who has to come in for 2 weeks every other month.

Lewis was doing okay. I took him to the play room while Laura spoke with his doctor and we made a friend: a little boy called Jordan, who was Lewis' age. It's so cute watching kids make friends. Initially they were both talking via me ie Jordan asked me what school Lewis went to. An hour later they were firm friends, sat round Lewis's bed reading through a dinosaur magazine. Jordan's dad came round afterwards and told me Jordan had leukemia.

A couple of hours later and I headed over to Dad's ward. He looked much better today but wasn't getting any rest due to two 90+ year old men who had been admitted after falling over. They had damaged their spines but were also suffering with dementia and would shout, swear, cry out or try and get up in the night.

He's refused morphine for less powerful drugs in hopes that'll it speed up his recovery. He's already managed to walk (held on both sides) a few steps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.