Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Wildlife

The main is a minke whale with gannets, guillemots and the odd shearwater hanging around. The extra is a guillemot eating a fish - can't tell which fish I'm afraid. 

We had planned to go to Skye today - just as foot passengers to Armadale. However CalMac cancelled all the sailings till 4pm. It's a woeful state of affairs and I was disappointed. But I've been to Skye many times and it was just a day out for me. For people who depend on the ferries it must be desperate. 

Instead of walking on the Sleat peninsula we went on a one hour wildlife boat trip. It was wonderful! The whales were such a lovely sight - a female and her calf. There were porpoises too but the whale is more dramatic. I had the wrong camera as I'd been expecting to be walking all day and didn't want to cart the bigger one around. 

I've just eaten an enormous lunch of seafood and I'm now going to walk a few miles before returning to the bothy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.