carliewired

By carliewired

79 F/ 26C

A touch of rain then
back to sunny days again.
Will there be smoke too? 

~carliewired

However it happened, I slept in until almost 8 this morning. I left the house with no thought as to where I would go with my camera. As I stopped at the light at the bottom of the hill, I could see some sun and blue sky in the west. I turned towards Tranquille. 

My first stop was to have a look at the wetlands pond. It seemed bigger today. I'm guessing a lot of runoff comes from the hills above the tracks to fill this space. I drove to the end of the road by the farm, turned around and got a shot of my mountains looking faded. 

The osprey were elusive. One soared off the nest to disappear as I arrived. One was perched on a far off tree. I could barely make it out in the distance. 

I noted the change of colours as the vegetation dries out. I discovered a lost sunflower along the roadside. We are definitely at the end of summer. 

On the return loop home I stopped at the east end of the airport runway to view the helicopters still stationed there. The fire crews camp has been moved, but this is the biggest airport in this fire region. Perhaps the helicopters will remain. 

We're at the start of our Labour Day long weekend. The weather is to clear and remain sunny for the holiday. Next Tuesday schools will open once again. 

I'm home with my sore feet up. "My Summer as a Beached Whale" continues! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.