Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I slept really badly, with twitching legs, probably down to not enough exercise, so determined to remedy that. I knew that Fi and Mick were going to Moss Rake, an old but fairly newly bolted quarry near Bradwell in the Peak District. I decided to join them, meeting at Fi's house for car sharing.

None of us had been there before but we found it and approached the quarry via steep, scree type paths. There were a couple of other groups on The Library Slab but we weren't in each other's way at all, and started on the easiest route, a 5c, seen here.

I don't do much sport climbing so it's always a bit of a shock after trad, the sharp rock, the angles, the lack of handholds, and therefore the level of trust in your feet.

I didn't do too badly at all, but my tiredness showed, as always, in my legs and their total inability to stand up on one of them. So I did 5 routes including one I couldn't finish, and Mick and Fi did 7. I found a couple of them absolutely desperate!!!

The sun was relentless and, although I'd applied Factor 50, I wished I'd remembered the sunhat, but we really can't complain as it was a fabulously sunny day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.