Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Jam on it

After lunch today we headed off to Craigie Farm again. Ever since we were there the other day I've regretted not buying raspberries as I've had a notion to make jam. I phoned to check they still had some available. When they said they couldn't guarantee being able to pick a couple of kg, I decided to go and pick some today while there was still a chance. The weather was glorious, but sadly the rasps are in a poly tunnel so I didn't have the joy of sunshine on me as I picked. I think it was a good decision to go today as although I managed my 2kg in just over half an hour, they were starting to be hard to find. Colin relaxed with his book in the cafe while I picked. Once again the place was full of children of many different ethnicities , there is such a happy atmosphere when the sun is shining.
When I got home I got stuck straight in and now have right jars of raspberry jam. I don't use pectin, do I'll find out tomorrow if it's jam or sauce lol.
It tasted good though, we had some on top of our raspberries, meringue and cream for dessert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.