Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

In the garden

That is precisely what we have done all day today. It has been so glorious since first light, that I can genuinely say I have not been off the premises at all. Some not too strenuous gardening - mowing the grass, removing the last of the blanket weed from the pond (the new bulb in the filter has stopped it growing and the water is now clear), watering. Some reading. Quite a lot of fiddling about with the camera and tripod; working out how to do one or two things I hadn't sussed before, such as how to see a histogram in live view. A glass of chilled plonk. A snooze.

And quite a lot of plant photography. I'm going on a day course at the Royal Botanic Gardens in a couple of weeks, so I thought I would try a few things. This is Aquilegia and Euphorbia. I like them both, though the powerful skin irritant of the latter is a perpetual hazard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.