Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Epiphytes

I read a book earlier in the year that properly introduced me to epiphytes.  If you've ever been to Wistman's Wood on Dartmoor or any other of the fragments of temperate rainforest that grow up the west side of Britain, you will have seen them in quantity.  I've actually been walking past this one growing on a large willow tree in the reserve for months (years?) without really observing it.  Today the light was catching it so nicely I actually stopped and looked.

And yes, when I got home I searched online.  And so you don't have to read my rather unscientific ramblings this is what Wikipedia has to say:
An epiphyte is a plant or plant-like organism that grows on the surface of another plant and derives its moisture and nutrients from the air, rain, water or from debris accumulating around it.  Most commonly epiphytes are mosses (yes, also as here), orchids, bromeliads, and ferns.

So that's my lesson for today ;))

Hope Wednesday's treated you kindly  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.