Life through the lens...

By ValC

Keeping cool

Misty first thing but then another glorious day.

A visit to Golden Acre Park, Leeds, where we had a walk through the woods to Adel Dam.
This Yorkshire Wildlife Reserve never fails to enchant us, and especially on a day like today when it kept us cool.
At the first hide we saw a Great spotted woodpecker, but didn’t stay long enough for me to get a photo. Also some fabulous dragonflies which just wouldn’t keep still.

At the next viewing screen we could see a grey heron in the distance. Not a very good photo ( see extra)

Then to the next hide. No kingfishers, but moorhens and mallards. However it was the reflections which caught my eye, and so that is my blip for Wide Wednesday’s theme ‘ water’.
It was so peaceful as well as cool.
We got talking to a couple of photographers who had an enormous telephoto lens on their camera. One gentleman showed me how to alter the light focus on my camera. Something I haven’t done before although I have had the camera for a few years. Always have it on auto and just point and shoot!

Then on to see the National Dahlia Society’s Exhibition trials. Stunning selection as always. ( see extra)
I also enjoy seeing the display of hanging baskets. ( last extra)

We were surprised how quiet the park was today. We had taken a picnic as we thought there would be a queue at the cafe, but that was quite too.
However we finished off with an ice cream from the van.
Lovely way to cool down, after a fabulous day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.