Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Sunshine on Leith

Another lovely day today, warm temperatures and in places a bit of a breeze .
I started cleaning out the linen cupboard and discovered that the contents of some of my vacuum bags had a very fusty smell. I checked through them all, sorted out the offenders for washing, put aside what I wanted to keep and packed up some others for the charity shop.
Surviving the cut were some 100 year old Scottish wool blankets from great auntie's house, some crochet blankets and some Indian bedspreads. When will I ever use wool blankets?.....but I'm not ready to say goodbye to them yet
I put the first load of washing on and we headed off to the charity shop with some of the culled items.
We decided to go to Milk at the Sculpture Yard for lunch but when we got there found they were closing at 2, so continued into Leith in our search for food.
I managed to get parked in Commercial Street and we headed up by the side of the water to have a look at the Victoria swing bridge. Sadly it was vandalised last night, it's being restored at the moment, so the walkway is now closed and we had to for and walk round by Rennie's Isle. The visa office is there and I felt very drawn to it as we walked past. Victoria Quay was looking good in the sunshine.
We ended up in Teuchters Landing and shared a delicious ploughman's lunch in the sun. It didn't feel like Edinburgh at all.
We headed home again about 3.30 and I spent the rest of the afternoon washing out the aforementioned fusty smell. The warning is still out overnight, thank goodness for the good forecast. A profitable day.
My blip is of Teuchters Landing from the Shore

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.