Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Twiggy Abstract

I was looking forward to a day without interruptions, but that was not to be.  I was settled in with my airbuds and a podcast about the shameful lack of any sort of rescue response after Katrina wiped out parts of the city of New Orleans. Many hundreds of people died who shouldn't have. I

n the midst of this dismal story our new insurance agent's assistant called to say that she was ready to finalize the documents I signed remotely yesterday and issue new insurance policies.The problem with doing this kind of thing remotely is that once an agent has contact details, they seem unwilling or unable to change them, so it falls to me to take care of all this. It's probably just as well since John  acts like his phone is some kind of foreign object that he should keep as far away as possible and claim ignorance on how to proceed if required to respond to messages of any kind. I should be more patient.

Two out of three policies are now in my email inbox but, as usual the printer doesn't work so we can't make hard copies for our old fashioned paper records. The third policy can't be paid until I have a policy number which involves making a profile, all of which tends to reduce me to a feeling of quivering incompetence pretty quickly. A separate phone call from our health insurance manager informing me that my health insurance costs were going up did nothing to calm me. I decided to ignore that one as there were things about it that didn't make sense. I'll wait until I hear from the insurance company itself.

I decided to change my listening from Katrina to music in a semi-successful effort to restore my peace of mind....

A message from Gail, visiting her family in England, said that Bob was in hospital with Covid so they wouldn't be home on schedule. I followed up with Gail and she said that he was badly dehydrated and was given fluids in hospital and released. He is exactly the same age as John  and apparently that's what it took to get another  water averse man to drink some! I don't know if this will influence John to drink more water, but I doubt it.  I have no patience when it comes to this subject.

The weather remains cooler than normal for this time of year. For this I am grateful since it should help keep fire season at bay.  It will give me great pleasure to call the insurance company that won't renew our policy and cancel what is left of it. After paying into their coffers for 40 years and making only one claim in all that time, one would think they could at least be a bit apologetic about canceling...

I don't think the music has entirely restored my equanimity but perhaps a stiff drink will do the trick....

Thanks to Ingeborg for continuing to host Abstract Thursday. It's a continuing challenge for me to come up with something, whether or not there is a theme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.