Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Tuttle is Back

My new Pentax arrived this afternoon. Yay. Following the "death" of my K50 in Madeira in July gone, I came across the all new KF this week and at the price, it seemed like a no brainer. Meanwhile the K50 will put to one side as I still think it is still worth fixing (the shutter mechanism). For the record, the K70 is the replacement for the K50 and the KF is a "modern duplicate" of the K70.

After much playing and setting up the camera to my liking, it is joy to use and still very much a Pentax inside and out. All my K mount lenses work well with it including the Lensbaby Control Freak (this lens, I found, was trickier to use when it came to setting the +/- exposure on the K50 for some reason). This blip, of the tonearm on my beloved (modified) Linn Basik turntable, was taken using my trusty 50mm at a sweet f1.4.

Another major plussy: I replaced the battery in my Canon FX. The light meter works. As does all the mechanics, minus the film of course. Took some working out due to the unfamiliarity and virgin territory of 35mm film SLRs. Thankfully the PDF manual was easy to access. Meanwhile, Tuttle Jnr has had a lot of success with his Mamiya ZX SLR over the last week or so. Most of the fun coming from last weekend in Criccieth experimenting with different settings and discovering features that we both thought never existed on SLRs. Looking forward to seeing the resulting pics.

How times have changed.

Alternative view of the Linn Basik.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.